Can We Still Get There?

Some people say we should quit
Some to stay the course
Some to cut our losses
Some to not beat a dead horse

Some may call us stupid
Some may call us nuts
Some may be supportive
When we get into ruts

I know the love I feel
Is all in all for you
I feel the love you feel
Is in some way like that too

I need to be more attentive
You may need to be less cold
I want to be your husband
As we both grow old

The past we need to bury
Under a layer of dirt
Let go of all the mistrust
Because we both got hurt

I know you still feel anger
At all the things I’ve done
I wish I could do better
And already your heart won

We need to start all over
In this whole affair
But if we do this now
Can we still get there?

Originally written 6-29-2010

© 2010. Kenneth Harl. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

